The formation of Beijing Hutongs can be traced back to the Yuan Dynasty. In 1981, Cao Ersi’s "Beijing Hutong Cong Tan" mentioned that the word "Hutong" was first seen in Yuan Opera. In Guan Hanqing's "Single Swordsmanship", there is a phrase "kill a bloody alley". , in the Yuan Zaju "Salmon Island Zhang Sheng Boils the Sea", Zhang Yu asked Mei Xiang: "Where do you live?" Mei Xiang said: "My family lives in Zhuantaer Hutong." There are different opinions on the research. However, there is a consensus that "hutong" is a proper term that has appeared in the urban architectural pattern of northern my country since the Yuan Dynasty.
A folk proverb in old Beijing said: "There are three thousand and six big alleys, and there are as many small alleys as a cow's hair." In fact, this is saying that there are too many alleys to count. Hutongs in Beijing were formed in the Yuan Dynasty and continued to develop after the Ming and Qing Dynasties, so the number of hutongs varies. According to Zhang Qingchang’s statistics in 1990 when he wrote the article “Let’s talk about alleys again”, in 1980 there were 6,029 streets and alleys in Beijing, of which 1,320 were alleys.
Speaking of Beijing hutongs, we must first understand the city of Beijing. It is generally said that since the Ming Dynasty, the city of Beijing has formed a construction pattern of "nine inner cities, seven outer cities and four imperial cities"—referring to the fact that there are nine city gates in the inner city of Beijing, and seven city gates in the outer city. , the imperial city has four gates. The rulers of the Qing Dynasty implemented a policy of ethnic discrimination, driving all the Han people to live in the outer city, and vacating the inner city to live in the Eight Banners troops and their families. At that time, the Eight Banners were very proud of their privileged status, and called their place of residence "Four Nine Cities" to show that they were a special group above others. Later, the title of "Four Nine Cities" was continued as a code name for Beijing City.
The old Beijing city is divided by the city wall, which can be roughly divided into four layers, namely the outer city, the inner city, the imperial city, and the Zijin city.
The nine gates of the inner city are: Zhengyang Gate, Chongwen Gate, Xuanwu Gate, Chaoyang Gate, Fucheng Gate, Dongzhi Gate, Xizhi Gate, Anding Gate and Desheng Gate.
The seven gates of the outer city are: Yongding Gate, Zuo'an Gate, You'an Gate, Guangqu Gate, Guang'an Gate, Dongbianmen, and Xibianmen.
The four gates of the imperial city are: Tiananmen, Di'anmen, Dong'anmen and Xi'anmen.

After liberation, Liang Sicheng proposed to build a new city outside the old Beijing city as the political center of China, and the suggestion to keep the old Beijing city was not adopted. After that, the inner and outer city walls and some towers of the old Beijing were used for urban construction and transformation. As well as the construction of subways and preparations for war preparations, they were successively demolished.
The hutongs in Beijing are basically concentrated in the original old Beijing city. In the early days of liberation, because of the national Great Leap Forward and the wave of people's communes, Beijing's population expanded rapidly, and the housing management department uniformly allocated real estate. Seven, eight or even a dozen families began to live in the courtyard. During the Cultural Revolution, many self-built houses were built in the hutong, and the original appearance of the hutong was greatly affected. After the Cultural Revolution, Beijing began to vigorously promote residential construction. Many high-rise buildings rose from the ground, and many hutongs and courtyard houses were knocked down. Fortunately, they gradually began to pay attention to cultural protection. Some valuable hutongs were listed as protected areas, so that the hutongs can be protected. Down, the Hutong culture can be passed down.
As mentioned earlier, hutongs and courtyard houses are actually the embodiment of the architectural style of old Beijing, just like Huizhou architecture, Miaozhai stilted buildings and Hakka earth buildings, all reflect the life and culture of the local people. Therefore, the hutongs and courtyard houses in Beijing were mainly concentrated in the old Beijing city at the beginning. Now the more well-known hutongs are basically distributed in the north and south parts of Beijing. box marked two areas).

Chengbei Hutong Group

The more well-known alleys in the north of the city are: Nanluoguxiang, Yandaixie Street, Guozijian Street and Wudaoying Hutong. At present, these hutongs are relatively well repaired and maintained because they are surrounded by famous tourist attractions such as Beihai, Jingshan, Bell and Drum Tower, Lama Temple, etc., but at the same time, the commercial atmosphere is relatively strong. These alleys are actually not far away. If you plan to visit the alleys, you can arrange to finish these alleys on the same day.

Hutong in the north of the city - Nanluoguxiang

Nanluoguxiang runs north-south, about 800 meters long, and has 8 alleys neatly arranged in the east and west. It is "fishbone-shaped" and like a "centipede". Therefore, Nanluoguxiang is also called "Centipede Alley".
The 8 east-west hutongs in Nanluoguxiang are from south to north: the 8 hutongs in the west are Fuxiang Hutong, Maoyi Hutong, Yuer Hutong, Maoer Hutong, Jingyang Hutong, Shajing Hutong and Heizhima Hutong, Qiangulouyuan Hutong. The 8 alleys in the east are Chaodou Hutong, Banchang Hutong, Dongmianhua Hutong, Beibingmasi Hutong, Qinlao Hutong, Qianyuanensi Hutong, Houyuanensi Hutong and Juer Hutong.
It is said that these alleys had no names in the Yuan Dynasty, and the names gradually evolved after the Ming Dynasty.
Nanluoguxiang should actually be the general name of this group of hutongs, but because of the various styles of specialty shops opened next to the main alleys in the north and south, many people think that Nanluoguxiang is the main alley in the north and south. To really feel the characteristics of Beijing Hutongs in Nanluoguxiang, you still have to enter the eight hutongs on both sides.

After the Spring Festival, Nanluoguxiang still retains the taste of many years. Beijingers generally have the custom of visiting temple fairs during the Spring Festival. The excitement of Nanluoguxiang after the festival is not inferior to that of other temple fairs.
On both sides of the main street of Nanluoguxiang are various specialty shops, and some are some well-known online celebrity shops. Many people's impression of Nanluoguxiang is that it is a characteristic small street with a collection of specialty shops and snacks. In fact, Nanluoguxiang is an alley with a lot of culture and history.

Ju'er Hutong is one of the alleys in Nanluoguxiang. It is located in an alley in the northeast direction of Nanluoguxiang. In the alley, there was the residence of Ronglu, a minister trusted by Empress Dowager Cixi during the Guangxu period of the Qing Dynasty.

Houyuan'en Temple Hutong is located on the south side of Ju'er Hutong. There are Mr. Contradictory Former Residence and Chiang Kai-shek's Xingyuan in the Hutong.

No. 13 Houyuan'en Temple Hutong is the place where Mao Dun lived after 1972. After liberation until 1965, Mao Dun served as the first Minister of Culture of New China. "Before moving to the courtyard, because of the death of his wife Kong Dejun, Mao Dun was sad and his body was getting weaker and weaker. He once fell from the stairs of the former dormitory building of the Ministry of Culture. At this time, everyone thought he was not suitable to live in the building again." December 1974 , Mao Dun moved into the two-entry standard courtyard house in Houyuan'en Temple Hutong until he was admitted to the hospital for treatment in February 1981, where he spent 6 years of his later years.

Chiang Kai-shek's Xingyuan was originally the residence of Zaiyan, the second son of Prince Qing Yikuang in the Qing Dynasty. From 1945 to 1949, it was used as Chiang Kai-shek's Xingyuan in Beiping. After liberation, it has successively served as the office of the North China Bureau of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, the Yugoslav embassy, ​​and the Chinese People's Association for Friendship with Foreign Countries.

The Heizhima Hutong Elementary School in Qianyuanen Temple Hutong, whose name was written by the famous writer Mao Dun himself, is a Xianghuangqi official school founded in 1644 (the first year of Shunzhi in the Qing Dynasty). It has a history of 370 years. The school system was reformed in the late Qing Dynasty. , changed the Eight Banners official school to a modern primary school, and the Xianghuang Banner official school was changed to "Eight Banners No. 1 Higher Primary School" in 1908, "Qianyuanensi Primary School" in 1938, and "Beijing Dongcheng District Black Sesame School" in 2000 Hutong Primary School".

No. 13 Yu'er Hutong is the former residence of Qi Baishi, a modern Chinese painting master, and it has now been changed to Qi Baishi Memorial Hall

In addition to the former residences of celebrities mentioned above, there are many celebrities living here in Nanluoguxiang. For example, No. 59 Nanluoguxiang is the former residence of Hong Chengchou, an important minister in the late Ming and early Qing Dynasties. Seng Gelinqin, Maoer Hutong No. 35 and No. 37 were originally the pre-marriage residence of Wanrong, the last empress of the Qing Dynasty.
This is the characteristics and culture of Beijing Hutong. Now it looks like a very ordinary and inconspicuous house, but it hides a lot of history and culture.

Chengbei Hutong - Yandai Xiejie

When it comes to "Yandai Xiejie", many people may not be as familiar with Beijing's "Houhai". Houhai is more famous for its bars. In fact, Yandai Xiejie is an alley in Houhai, and both Houhai and Yandai Xiejie are far away from Nanluoguxiang Not far away, from the alley on the west side of Nanluogu Alley to the west, you will find Di'anmenwai Street. The west side of the street is Houhai. Yandai Xiejie is one of the alleys that enter Houhai from Di'anmenwai Street.

Yandai Xiejie can basically guess several meanings from the name, one is that it is a Xiejie. Yandai Xiejie runs from northeast to southwest, with a total length of 232 meters. The second is related to cigarette bags. It is said that most of the banner people who lived in Beicheng, Beijing at that time liked to smoke dry tobacco or hookah. The shops in Yandai Xiejie Street were all cigarette bag shops, which got their name because they sold cigarette bags. In addition, Yandai Xiejie itself is like a cigarette pipe, the long and thin street looks like a pipe pole, the east entrance is like a pipe mouth, and the west entrance turns to the south, leading to Yinding Bridge, which looks like a pipe pot. It is based on these two reasons that Xiejie is named after "cigarette bag". In this way, the name of Yandai Xiejie became louder and louder, and has been handed down. Now there are no shops selling cigarette bags in Yandai Xiejie, replaced by various snacks and specialty handicraft shops.
Just after the Spring Festival, Yandai Xie Street is the same as Nanluoguxiang. The street is crowded with people, and it still feels prosperous.

Because Yandai Xiejie is next to Houhai, let’s talk about Houhai and the unique scenic spots around Houhai.
First of all, let’s talk about "Houhai". In fact, Houhai is a part of Shichahai. Shichahai is composed of three water surfaces: Qianhai, Houhai and Xihai. Zhongnanhai and Beihai Park, where the central leaders are located, are basically familiar to everyone. Houhai is to the north of Beihai Park, and Zhongnanhai is to the south of Beihai Park.

Shichahai was not a bar that was familiar to Beijingers many years ago, but Shichahai Sports School and Shichahai Ice Rink.
Shichahai Sports School used to be a very good sports school in Beijing, and has trained many famous athletes, such as the former women's volleyball team leader Feng Kun, world table tennis champions Zhang Yining, Ma Long, Ding Ning, Guo Yan, Li Jiawei, etc., as well as martial arts stars Jet Li, Wu Jing , Donnie Yen. Jet Li entered Beijing Shichahai Sports School in 1971 to study martial arts, thus starting his career as a martial arts athlete. Wu Jing started practicing martial arts at the Beijing Shichahai Sports School at the age of 6. In 1989, he joined the Beijing Wushu Team for professional training. Donnie Yen, who also studied under Beijing Shichahai Sports School, is the same master as Jet Li and Wu Jing-Wu Bin.
Shichahai Ice Rink used to be the most prosperous place in Beijing in winter. There have been many young and unscrupulous young people who left their youthful memories there. In the TV series "Blood Romance", Zhong Yuemin played by Liu Ye once asked, "Student, have you ever gone ice skating in Shichahai?" The water in Shichahai is not as beautiful as the ice rink in Shichahai." In the movie "Old Paoer", Liu Ye skating on the lake is a highlight, and it also brings back memories of that generation.

A stone bridge in the shape of a silver ingot connecting Shichahai Qianhai and Houhai is the Yinding Bridge. It was built in the Ming Dynasty and has a history of more than 500 years. The current bridge was rebuilt in 1984 and 2011.

The Hutong linking Yandai Xiejie Street and Yinding Bridge is called Xiaoshibei Hutong.

"Barbecue Season" next to Yinding Bridge is a time-honored brand with more than 170 years. In the old days, there were three families specializing in barbecue in Beijing, namely "Barbecue Wan", "Barbecue Season" and "Barbecue King". Now, only Roast Meat Wan and Roast Meat Season still maintain the traditional advantages of time-honored brands, and have become well-known Beijing Halal-style specialty restaurants at home and abroad. The roast mutton it operates has a long-standing reputation and has the reputation of "Nanwan Beiji".
The Fire God Temple on the east side of the sea in front of Shichahai was built in the sixth year of Tang Zhenguan (632), and it is called the Huodezhenjun Temple. This fire temple is the earliest and only royal temple in the capital.

To the northeast of Houhai, exiting from the east exit of Yandai Xie Street, is Di’anmenwai Street, which is also the central axis of Beijing. Yuyuan is also the place where Chongzhen, the last emperor of the Ming Dynasty, hanged himself. Standing on the Wanchun Pavilion in the park, you can overlook the panoramic view of the Forbidden City. To the north is the Drum Tower and the Bell Tower. The two buildings are arranged vertically. They used to be the time telling center of the capital city in Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties. In the history of the establishment of the city's Bell and Drum Tower, the Beijing Bell and Drum Tower is the largest and the highest in shape. It is one of the landmark buildings in the ancient capital of Beijing.

From Houhai to the west, the Heyan Hutong on Liuyin Street is Prince Gong’s Mansion. It is the most well-preserved palace complex in my country. It has more than 30 buildings of various types. The layout is exquisite and the style is extraordinary. The mansion has gone through the historical process of the Qing Dynasty from its heyday to its decline, so there is a saying that "a mansion of Prince Gong, half of the history of the Qing Dynasty".

Chengbei Hutong - Guozijian Street

Guozijian Street and Wudaoying Hutong are both located about 2 kilometers northeast of Nanluoguxiang, on the west side of Lama Temple.

Guozijian on Guozijian Street was built in the 10th year of Emperor Chengzong of Yuan Dynasty (1306). It was the highest administrative organ for state management of education and the highest institution established by the state in the Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties of China. On the east side of the wall from Guozijian is the Confucian Temple. In fact, the Confucius Temple is a part of Guozijian. The two buildings conform to the system of "left temple and right school".

Along Guozijian Street to the East Road is Lama Temple. Lama Temple was built in the 33rd year of Kangxi in the Qing Dynasty (AD 1694). It was originally the palace of Emperor Yongzheng before he came to the throne. In the third year of Yongzheng (AD 1725), it was changed to a palace. Emperor Qianlong was born here, and the Lama Temple became a "blessed place for dragons" because of the birth of two emperors, so the palace has yellow tiles and red walls, which are the same specifications as the imperial palace. In the ninth year of Qianlong (1744), the Lama Temple was changed into a Lama Temple, which belongs to the Tibetan Buddhist temple and is also the highest-standard Buddhist temple in the country.

Chengbei Hutong——Wudaoying Hutong

Wudaoying Hutong is an east-west hutong located on the north side of Guozijian Street and parallel to Guozijian Street. It starts from Lama Temple Street in the east and connects with Andingmen Inner Street in the west. Wudaoying belongs to Chongjiaofang, formerly known as Wudeweiying. It is a street that existed after Ming Taizu Zhu Di established his capital in Beijing. It is said that this place was the military camp of the Ming Dynasty. It was renamed "Wudaoying" in the Qing Dynasty, and was renamed "Wudaoying Hutong" in 1965 when the place names were rectified.
The east entrance of Wudaoying Hutong is facing the main hall inside the wall of Lama Temple

Wudaoying Hutong is similar to Nanluoguxiang and Yandaixie Street at first glance. There are specialty shops along both sides of the street, but the small shops here are cleaner, more lazy, and more artistic. It is said that this is also the reason. For this reason, Wudaoying Hutong has gradually become the "most temperamental" Hutong in the mouth of literary youths.

Chengnan Hutong Group

The Hutong group in the south of the city is mainly located on the south side of Zhengyangmen and Qianmen in the south of Tiananmen Square. The surrounding areas of Dashilan Commercial Street include the Eight Great Hutongs that were once famous for the Flower Street and Willow Lane in the old Beijing capital, as well as Liulichang Cultural Street, a cultural market full of talents. alley group.
It can be said that the hutongs in the northern part of the old Beijing city used to be full of palaces, rich merchants and dignitaries, while the hutongs in the south of the city were the settlements of a large number of ordinary people and small business owners. Compared with the northern city, which is full of royal atmosphere, the southern city is more civilian. With the passage of time and the alternation and changes of the times, the south of the city has gradually formed a gathering place dominated by guild halls, theater gardens and accommodation services. The south of the city has also formed a prosperous and unique urban area integrating commerce, entertainment and Han scholar-bureaucrat culture. Today’s famous Dashilan business district was also formed during this period. During this period, some well-known time-honored brands were born, such as Tongrentang, Majuyuan, Neiliansheng, Ruifuxiang, Houdefu, Quanjude, Liubiju and so on. Along with the prosperity of commerce, Dashilar has also produced a non-governmental financial service system, which integrates minting silver, money houses, and bank accounts, and has become a financial service center for the entire Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region.

Chengnan Hutong - Eight Great Hutongs

The "Bada Hutong" in those days was also called Badabu. It is located near the current Qianmen Street and Dashilan, north of Xizhushikou Street and south of Tieshu Xiejie. From west to east, they are: Baishun Hutong, Yanzhi Hutong, Hanjiatan, Shaanxi Alley, Stone Alley, Wang Guangfu Xiejie, Zhujia Alley, Li Shamao Alley. In fact, the "eight major hutongs" mentioned by old Beijingers do not refer specifically to these eight streets and alleys, but generally refer to the Dashilan area outside Qianmen, because there were nearly a hundred hutongs outside these eight streets and alleys. Big and small brothels. It's just that back then, most of the brothels in these eight alleys were first-class or second-class, and the "class" of prostitutes was relatively high, which is why they are so well-known.

Speaking of the origin of the "Eight Great Hutongs", we must start from the end of the Qing Dynasty and the beginning of the Republic of China. At first, this was not a "red light district", but the location of the opera troupe that came to Beijing. During the Qianlong period, the Hui troupe came to Beijing and stayed in the area of ​​Hanjiatan and Baishun Hutong in the Eight Great Hutongs. Baishun Hutong, Shanxi Lane and other places in the Eight Great Hutongs. Later, it gradually became the largest gathering place for male sex in the Qing Dynasty, and it gradually evolved into the famous Firework Willow Lane in the late Qing Dynasty and early Republic of China. At that time, there was a limerick that described it very wonderfully: "The Eight Great Alleys have been named since ancient times, Baishun Stone City in Shaanxi. There are many strings and songs beside Hanjiatan, and the lights on Wangguangxie Street are bright. The cars in front of Wanfo Temple converge, and Ertiaoyingwai Road is criss-crossed. Clusters of rouge go up the slope".
At that time, Beijing brothels were divided into four classes: the first class was called "big place" or "Qingyin Xiaoban", the second class was called "tea room", the third class was called "Xia Chu", and the fourth class was called "small place"; There are many "Qingyin small classes" and "tea rooms" gathered together, coupled with the large number of actors in the surrounding Liyuan troupe and the gathering of celebrities and scholars, it is naturally famous.
From the reign of Qianlong to 1949, all the first-class Qingyin small classes opened in Shaanxi Lane. The small class of Qingyin is not just a flesh and blood business, they are more about accompanying guests to have tea, have banquets, play the piano and sing, and compose lyrics. The prostitutes in old Beijing were divided into "South Class" and "North Class". The "South Class" - women in Yangzhou, Suzhou and Hangzhou, had high cultural literacy. Excellent in color and art, able to play piano, chess, calligraphy, painting, sheng, pipe, silk, and strings, have a little understanding of poetry, and most of them can cook well. The "Northern Class" women in the north of the Yellow River are far worse. Sai Jinhua and Xiaofengxian are both girls from the southern class.
Now most of these alleys have changed beyond recognition, and only some traces of the past can still be seen on some old houses. Moreover, there are a large number of residents living in the hutongs now, and the hutongs are relatively messy. In the 1960s and 1970s, Beijing’s hutongs basically looked like this. Later, due to urban reconstruction, many Beijingers living in the hutongs lived in the community and moved. I went up to the building, but it still retains the atmosphere of the hutong life of the year, and you can also see the life in Beijing's hutongs in the 1960s and 1970s.

Shanxi Lane——the most famous hutong among the eight major hutongs in old Beijing. In the early Ming Dynasty, a large number of merchants gathered in the area outside the front door, attracting merchants and housing goods. This lane gathered many wood merchants from Shaanxi, and hoarded wood here, so it was named Shaanxi Lane.

No. 22 Shaanxi Lane is the former site of Shanglin Xianguan, the small class of Qingyin, near the northern end of Shaanxi Lane. It was built in the late Ming and early Qing Dynasties. It has a history of more than 300 years. The patio-style courtyard house with architectural style of Ming and Qing Dynasties became famous because of the listing of two legendary women, Sai Jinhua and Xiaofengxian. The Shanglin Xianguan was definitely the top club in the Eight Great Hutongs back then. Now it has become the Alai Inn, Saijinhua and Xiaofengxian Cultural Center, and is now closed.

The southernmost end of Shanxi Alley is Zhushikou East Street, and the Deshoutang Pharmacy in the northwest corner of the intersection is a time-honored brand founded in 1934.

Yulin Lane - an alley heading east from Shaanxi Lane. This is a relatively narrow alley, but it is famous for the famous prostitute Sai Jinhua. Go east from Shaanxi Lane to the end, and you will find No. 1 Yulin Lane on your right. No. 1 Yushu Lane is the former residence of Sai Jinhua, a famous prostitute in Beijing. Speaking of history, the most famous woman in the "Eight Alleys" is the famous prostitute "Sai Jinhua". Sai Jinhua was born in the 11th year of Tongzhi in the Qing Dynasty. At first Sai Jinhua lived in the upper class. She also went to Germany, Russia, Holland and Austria with her husband Hong Jun as an ambassador's wife. However, fate played tricks on her in the end. She moved to Beijing in the 25th year of Guangxu and re-listed for business. She was even poorer in her later years and died of illness in Beijing in 1936.
Sai Jinhua's former residence was a two-story building. It is said that there were seven rooms on the upper floor and seven rooms on the lower floor. There were two courtyards in front of the building. But now very run down.

Current status of No. 1 Yulin Lane

Tieshu Xiejie - go north along Shaanxi Lane, and at the end is Tieshu Xiejie, which is a relatively wide street from east to west. To the east, it is connected to Dashilan West Street.
It is said that the Tieshu Xiejie in the early days was a ditch. After it was established in the Qing Dynasty, it was named Li Tieguo Xiejie because of a blacksmith surnamed Li in the street. Ji Xiaolan took a shortcut when going to court, and would cross the side street every day. In 1965, the place names were rectified in Beijing, and Shiguan Lane and Pengpu Lane were merged into it, and they were renamed Tieshu Xiejie.
No. 101, Tieshu Xiejie, was once the birthplace of Peking Opera master Mei Lanfang. Mei Lanfang was born here on the 14th day of the ninth lunar month in the 20th year of Guangxu in the Qing Dynasty (1894). A generation of Peking Opera masters, peerless youth, all the legends and brilliance started from this courtyard.

Old house on Tieshu Xiejie

Beijing Relay Factory on Tieshu Xiejie

Going east along Tieshu Xie Street, you will be connected to Dashilan West Street, and you can go along Dashilan West Street to Meishi Street in Dashilan.

Zhujia Hutong——Go east along Tieshu Xie Street to Dashilan West Street and continue eastward not far. On the south side of the street, opposite Deyuan Roast Duck Restaurant is Zhujia Hutong.

No. 45 Zhujia Hutong is the former site of a second-class brothel. It was built in the early years of the Republic of China. It is a two-story building with brick and wood structure. The facade of the building is exquisite, and the three characters "Linchun Building" are engraved on the front, which can still be seen clearly.

Go north along Zhujia Hutong to the end, then go west along Dashilan West Street, at the end of Dashilan West Street is a triangle with three forks, go to the left hand side is Tieshu Xie Street, go to the right hand side is Cherry Xie Street .
The picture below shows the road from east to west on Dazhalan West Street. The far end where the fence is being repaired is the fork of the triangle subway Shuxie Street and Cherry Xie Street.

The alley on the left in the picture below is Tieshu Xiejie, and the alley on the right is Cherry Xiejie

There are many old people playing chess, playing cards and chatting in the small square of the triangle. This small triangle should be a leisure place in the alley.

Cherry Xie Street——In the old days, there were five Guizhou Guild Halls, including the Guizhou Guild Hall.

No. 27 Cherry Street is the former residence of the famous Pingju artist Xin Fengxia. Her starring roles in "Flower as a Match" and "Liu Qiaoer" were once well-known to every household. The house is a courtyard with two entrances, and now it is a messy dwelling.

No. 65 Cherry Xie Street, the former site of the former Liyuan trade union

Hanjia Hutong——Hanjia Hutong intersects with Tieshu Xiejie and Cherry Xiejie in the west, and connects with Shaanxi Lane in the east. Han’s Hutong is also called “Han’s Pool”. In those days, there were many Qingyin small classes and teahouses, and it was also a place where actors played. Never leave the mountains, and opera singers never leave Baishun Hanjiatan". Li Yu's "Mustard Seed Garden" is also here.

No. 10 Hanjia Hutong is the old site of Tongfu Class, one of the small classes of Qingyin back then.

No. 25 Hanjia Hutong is the site of Li Yu's former residence in Beijing - "Mustard Garden". The "Mustard Seed Garden" was first built in the Kangxi period of the Qing Dynasty, and was once named "Mustard Seed Garden" because of its exquisiteness and compactness. The garden is one of the famous private gardens in the capital with stacked stones, pavilions and towers, precious flowers and rare trees. It is elegant and unique. Now it is beyond recognition.

Baishun Hutong - formerly known as Baishu Hutong. In the Ming Dynasty, it was called Baishu Hutong, and it got its name because of the cypresses planted there. In the early Qing Dynasty, the homonym took the meaning of "everything is smooth", and it was renamed Baishun Hutong. The east entrance of Baishun Hutong is Shaanxi Lane, the west entrance is Da Baishun Hutong, the north side of it is Hanjia Hutong, and the south side is Dongbiying Hutong and Xibiying Hutong.
Among the Eight Hutongs, Baishun Hutong is the most famous, and the historical evolution of each courtyard is also complicated. At first, there were Taiping Guild Hall, Jintai Guild Hall, etc., and most of the halls were later converted into residential buildings. Many yards have changed hands many times since they were built, and even the former residents can't tell the story of it.
Baishun Hutong is the birthplace of Peking Opera culture. Many famous Peking Opera actors lived in the Hutong, which is a unique historical and cultural resource. The catchphrase back then: "People never leave the road, tigers never leave the mountains, opera singers never leave Baishun Hanjiatan", which shows the great reputation and far-reaching influence of this place. Huiban came to Beijing more than 200 years ago. The Sanqing troupe who came to Beijing first lived in Hanjiatan, and then moved to No. 36 Baishun Hutong. Immediately afterwards, Chuntai Class also moved into Baishun Hutong. Seventy percent of famous actresses live in Baishun Hutong and Hanjiatan. Mei Lanfang moved out of the old house on Tieshu Xie Street in 1900 and lived here.
No. 36 Baishun Hutong is now an ordinary residential house after renovation, and there is no trace of the past.

It is said that the brothels lined up from the west entrance of Baishun Hutong in those days included Xiaoxiang Pavilion, Meijinyuan, Xinfengyuan, Fengmingyuan, Xinyage, Shihuaguan, Lanxiangban, Songzhuguan, Quanxiangban, Qunfangyuan, and Meihuaguan. There are more than a dozen first-class teams including Fengyuan and several northern teams. There are also 6 brothels opened by the Japanese during the Japanese invasion of China, as well as Shangyuanjiao opium hall, white noodle house, Japanese tavern, etc. When the brothels were closed in 1949, there were several women's labor and labor institutions here.
The statue at the intersection of the east entrance of Baishun Hutong and Shanxi Lane was built in the process of Hutong protection and renovation in recent years to reflect the original drama culture of Liyuan.

Go west along Baishun Hutong, the statue at the intersection of Yanzhi Lane and Hutong.

Hutong interior view of Baishun Hutong

The statue at the west entrance of Baishun Hutong, at the intersection with Da Baishun and Xiao Baishun Hutong.

No. 40 at the end of the west entrance of Baishun Hutong is the former site of "Binqing Society". Binqingshe is a famous Peking Opera troupe. The famous "Binqing Sanchun" - Li Wanchun, Lanyuelou and Geng Changchun came from here. They are famous for their superb acting skills. Now they are ordinary houses after renovation.

Courtyard No. 49, Baishun Hutong, used to be the former site of a Qingyin small class. It is said that this place belonged to a first-class brothel, and it was a place for the wealthy and playboys at that time. From the structure of the building and the exquisite stone carvings on the outer wall, we can see the grandeur and prosperity of the year.

No. 55 Baishun Hutong is the former residence of Mr. Chen Delin, the famous Tsing Yi master "Old Master".

Dabaishun Hutong——located at the west end of Baishun Hutong, starting from Hanjia Hutong and ending in Xiaobaishun Hutong,

Stone Hutong—the original Wangjiang Guild Hall, Yu County Guild Hall, Yanling Guild Hall, Longyan Guild Hall, etc. in the Hutong.

Courtyard No. 83, Shitou Hutong, used to be the "Tianheyu" hotel in the late Qing Dynasty.

Rouge Alley—formerly known as Rouge Alley, it got its name because there used to be a shop in the alley that produced and sold rouge powder, which was mainly used by fireworks girls in the "Eight Alleys".
Among the "Eight Great Hutongs", Yanzhi Hutong is the shortest, originally 100 meters long, but now only 30 to 40 meters long. At the south entrance of the hutong, during the protection and renovation of the hutong, the Peking Opera masks of "Sheng, Dan, Jing, Mo, and Chou" painted on the walls add a touch of elegance to the messy hutong.

Although Rouge Hutong is very short, it is said that there were many brothels in this alley at the beginning, and there were more than ten first-class brothels alone. Among them, the most famous one is "Shihuaguan", the largest first-class small class in the past. It was called "Su Family Courtyard" in the Ming Dynasty, and it was the residence of the famous prostitute "Su San" (Yutangchun). It is said that her love story with Wang Jinlong took place here. The current location of No. 12, A2, and B2 of Rouge Hutong is said to be the original location of the flower garden in old Beijing. There are no traces of it now.

No. 7 and No. 9 of Rouge Hutong used to be the locations of two "white noodle houses" opened by Koreans, but now they are completely different. "White Noodle House" is another name for "Smoke Hall", which was brought to Beijing by the Japanese. "Bada Hutong" was a place for smoking opium in the early days. After the Japanese brought white noodles to Beijing, "white noodle houses" spread like a plague. But they do not operate it themselves, but hand it over to the Koreans to take charge of it.

Palm Tree Xiejie——Wang and Widow Xiejie in the Qing Dynasty, and later renamed Wang Guangfu Xiejie, connected to Dali Hutong in the east and Shitou Hutong in the west. It is said that there used to be many third-class brothels here, such as Jiuxiang Tea House, Juqianyuan, Guixiangyuan, Shuangjinxiachu, Quanlexiachu, Yuelaidianxiachu and so on.

No. 40, Palm Tree Xie Street, is the site of the old "Yipinxiang Bathhouse".

No. 42, Palm Tree Xie Street, now Xinyandu Qianmen Palm Tree Store

Li Shamao Hutong—Originally divided into two alleys, Da Li Shamao and Xiao Li Shamao, but now they have been changed into Dali Hutong and Xiaoli Hutong respectively. This hutong does not run east-west. The east entrance is connected to Dashilan Meishi Street, the west entrance is connected to Zongshu Xiejie (formerly Wangguangfu Xiejie), Zhujia Hutong, and Qingfengjiadao, and the middle section is connected to Xiaoli Hutong.
It is said that there were a total of 21 house numbers in the old days, but the brothel occupied nearly 20 yards. The brothels here are mainly third-class, and because this alley is close to some theaters and restaurants, there are also several second-class brothels.
Dali Hutong - from Dashilan Meishi Street in the east to Palm Tree Xie Street in the west, it was called Dali Shamao Hutong in the Qing Dynasty, and it got its name because there was a handicraft workshop for making Shamao in the alley. The name of the lane was used until after liberation, and it was changed to its present name in 1965.

No. 17 Dali Hutong, used to be a tea room, now it is Dali Hotel.

Xiaoli Hutong——North-south direction. It starts from Dashilan West Street in the north and reaches Dali Hutong in the south, with a length of 182 meters and a width of 4 meters. In the Qing Dynasty, it was called Xiaoli Shamao Alley, and it got its name because there was a handicraft workshop for making Shamao in the alley. The name of the alley was used until after liberation, and it was renamed Xiaoli Hutong in 1965.

Ji Xiaolan's former residence is located in the southwest corner of Bada Hutong, at No. 241 Zhushikou West Street, next to Jinyang Restaurant.
Ji Xiaolan lived here for two periods, from 11 to 39 years old, and from 48 to 82 years old, for a total of 62 years.
Ji Xiaolan, whose name is Ji Yun and style name Xiaolan, was once the chief editor of Sikuquanshu. Although there are mixed records about him in the world, he devoted all his life to the compilation of "Siku Quanshu", which is a collection of classics of three thousand years, with simple and clear arguments and elegant articles. His "Yuewei Thatched Cottage Notes" and "Ji Wenda Gong's Legacy Collection" have been handed down to the world. From this point of view, he is a scholar who has made great contributions to the history of Chinese culture.
As the minister of the Ministry of War and the Ministry of Rites of the Qing Dynasty, the official residence of the Shu Jishi of the Imperial Academy is indeed relatively shabby, and it is a world of difference compared with Heshen's Prince Gong's Mansion. From this, we can also see the cultural differences between the Hutongs in the north and south of Beijing.

Chengnan Hutong - Liulichang Cultural Street

Liulichang Cultural Street is located in the northwest direction of Bada Hutong, only a 10-minute walk away. In the Liao Dynasty, it was called "Haiwang Village". In the Yuan and Ming Dynasties, Liuli Kiln Factory was set up, so it was called "Liuli Factory". Antique dealers began to operate here in the early Qing Dynasty, and during the Qianlong period (1736-1795), it became a distribution center for antique calligraphy and paintings, ancient books and rubbings, and the Four Treasures of the Study. After the founding of the People's Republic of China, it became more characteristic of a cultural street.

Until the end of Ming Dynasty, Liulichang had nothing to do with cultural markets. Until the early Qing Dynasty, most of the candidates who came to Beijing to take the imperial examination lived in this area. Therefore, there were more and more shops selling books, pens, inks, papers and inkstones in Liulichang, and a cultural climate gradually formed. During the Qianlong period, Liulichang had already become a distribution center for antique calligraphy and paintings, pens, inks, paper and inkstones, engraved boards and engraved steles. In addition, booksellers from all over the country set up stalls here to sell books. At that time, it became the largest "library" in the country.
"Listening to operas, eating small restaurants, and visiting Liulichang" are known as the three major pleasures of the literati in the Republic of China. According to "Lu Xun's Diary", during the 14 years he lived in Beijing, he went to Liulichang 480 times, bought more than 3,800 books and stele stickers, and calligraphy and painters such as Zhang Daqian, Qi Baishi, Wu Changshuo and other literati often hang out here .
During the period of the Republic of China, Liulichang experienced a transition from peak to depression. From the first year of the Republic of China to 1927, this period can be said to be the "golden age" of Liulichang's antique industry. High-ranking officials, literati, scholars, and tourists wandered in the shops of antique bookstores, and calligraphy, painting, and play stalls were next to each other. There are crowds of people, and it is very lively. Not only powerful and powerful gentry patronize this place, but also a place for ordinary people to visit. However, since the government moved to the south, especially during the fall of Beijing, many shops closed down one after another, and Liulichang gradually fell into depression. Although there were several rebounds, they did not last long. Its "shrinking" state continued until the end of the civil war. It only got better when New China was founded.
After the reform and opening up, Liulichang has been repaired and refurbished many times, and this ancient cultural street has regained its splendor. After hundreds of years of precipitation, Liulichang tells the vicissitudes of China's ancient and modern history.
Today's Liulichang Cultural Street is divided into Liulichang East Street and Liulichang West Street by the South Xinhua Street as the boundary, and the middle is connected by an overpass.

Liulichang East Street - Entering Liulichang East Street from South Xinhua Street, at the west entrance of Liulichang East Street, there is a small square, like a huge courtyard, with a Chinese bookstore on the north side, Jigu Pavilion on the south side, and Jigu Pavilion on the east side. On the side is Guyizhai.
China Bookstore is the largest antique bookstore in my country. On September 15, 1986, the Liulichang branch of the Zhonghua Bookstore opened, specializing in the collection of ancient Chinese books, inscriptions, rubbings, various old books, newspapers and magazines, selling newly printed ancient books and research-related books and picture albums, and concurrently operating the Four Treasures of the Study.

Jiguge is an old shop with a long history specializing in the reproduction and restoration of cultural relics and antiques. It restores various cultural relics unearthed in history and Tang Sancai, ancient bronzes, ancient paintings, etc. for museums at home and abroad and in various provinces and cities. Enjoy a high reputation.

Liulichang East Street is lined with one- and two-story buildings in ancient Chinese architectural style. There are many shops dealing in paper, ink, pens, inkstones and antiques, which have both cultural atmosphere and commercial characteristics.

Yide Pavilion was first built in the fourth year of Tongzhi in the Qing Dynasty (1865). It is famous all over the world for its ink, and its products are spread all over China and overseas. The name of Yidege store is taken from the head of the couplet "One skill is enough for the world to use, and many methods have been written by the ancients". Mr. Qi Gong, a famous calligrapher, wrote a poem and praised: "The inkstone pool is rotated thousands of times, and how much effort is spent on the wrist. The ink system is made from one to the pavilion, and no one in the book forest is the first to sing."

Various snuff bottles displayed in shop windows on Liulichang East Street

The post office at the east end of Liulichang East Street is also in an antique style.

Go east to the end of Liulichang East Street, turn right and then turn left to enter Yangmeizhu Xiejie. It is said that this street was named after a matchmaker Yang who was good at matchmaking lived in the early Qing Dynasty. During the Guangxu period of the Qing Dynasty, it was homophonic and refined into "Yangmeizhuxiejie".

The Yangmeizhu Xiejie used to be a place for entertainment, shopping, eating, tea tasting, service, etc. It was a place for scholars, officials, and merchants to spend their time. It is rumored that General Cai E met Xiao Fengxian here.
Qingyun Pavilion on Yangmeizhu Xiejie is the only and best-preserved sedan chair building so far, and it was also a high-level comprehensive commercial and entertainment venue in Beijing in the late Qing Dynasty and early Republic of China. Today, the style of Qingyun Pavilion is gone, but the blue bricks, Zhumen, and stone plaques are still the best witnesses of history.

Liulichang West Street—The most eye-catching building on Liulichang West Street is Rongbaozhai. After entering Liulichang West Street from South Xinhua Street to the west, several tall shops along the street are Rongbaozhai.
Rongbaozhai was first built in the eleventh year of Kangxi in the Qing Dynasty (1672), and its predecessor was Songzhuzhai. Rongbaozhai is a time-honored store operating the Four Treasures of the Study, with a history of more than 300 years. Rongbaozhai attaches great importance to the management and collection of artworks, and is known as the "Folk Forbidden City".

A cute little foreign girl playing on the steps at the gate of Rongbaozhai

Calligraphy artists who write calligraphy and painting gathered in many shops of Liulichang, and some people were selling calligraphy and painting at the door.

Chinese bookstore and gallery on Liulichang West Street

Dongjiaomin Alley and Xijiaomin Alley

Xijiaomin Lane and Dongjiaomin Lane are separated from Tiananmen Square by east and west. Facing the Chairman Mao Memorial Hall on Tiananmen Square. Dongjiaomin Lane is mainly the former buildings of embassies of various countries left over from the Revolution of 1911, while Xijiaomin Lane is the former building complex of banks.
Dongjiaomin Lane and Xijiaomin Lane are very common streets built in the Yuan Dynasty when the capital city was built. They were originally called Jiangmi Lane. Dongjiaomin Lane used to be called Dongjiang Mi Lane, and Xijiaomin Lane was called Xijiang Mi Lane.
In 1860, after the Second Opium War, the powers of various countries successively occupied land in Dongjiang Mixiang to establish embassies.

Dongjiaomin Alley and Xijiaomin Alley——Dongjiaomin Alley

The embassy complex in Dongjiaomin Lane is the only remaining Western-style building complex in the early 20th century in Beijing, and it is a cultural relic protection block in Beijing.

Dongjiaomin Lane starts from the east side road of Tiananmen Square in the west and ends in Chongwenmen Inner Street in the east. In modern times, it used to be a famous embassy area. After the Second Opium War in 1860, the British and French allied forces captured Beijing, burned the Old Summer Palace and forced the Qing government to sign the "Beijing Treaty". Britain, France, the United States, Russia, Japan, Germany, Belgium and other countries successively set up embassies in Dongjiaominxiang, and renamed Dongjiaominxiang to Embassy Street, forming a mixed situation of embassies and residential buildings.
In 1900, the Boxer Rebellion broke out, and foreign nationals, ministers, and churches became the targets of the Boxer Rebellion.
In 1901, the Qing government was forced to sign the "Xin Chou Treaty" with the invaders. According to the provisions of the "Treaty", a large area of ​​land starting from today's Chongwenmen Inner Street in the east, reaching the east side of the square in the west, reaching the city wall in the south, and ending in the south of East Chang'an Street in the north, whether it is residential buildings, government offices, or temples, is designated as Foreign embassy circles. Iron fences were set up outside the embassy, ​​and tall walls and iron gates were built around it, and blockhouses were also built to prevent Chinese people from entering casually. The embassies of the United States, France, Britain, Japan, Austria, Belgium, Italy, the Netherlands and other countries live in separate places in the embassy circle, and the barracks are also attached to the left and right of the embassy. The Dongdan Park area near Dongjiaomin Lane used to be a training ground for various countries. In the embassy area, not only ordinary residences were occupied, but also various palaces were not spared. The Austrian barracks were built in the Anjun Prince’s Mansion; French Embassy.
After 1949, Dongjiaomin Lane was still used as the embassy area. Until 1959, all embassies were moved to the embassy area around Sanlitun outside Chaoyangmen.
On the east side of Tiananmen Square, facing the Chairman Mao Memorial Hall, there is a road going up the steps to the east. This is the starting point on the west side of Dongjiaomin Lane. Going up the steps to the east, the building on the right is the Tiananmen Square Management Committee.

The building opposite the Tiananmen Square Management Committee is the former site of the Macquarie Bank.

No. 19-1 Dongjiaomin Lane is the former site of the French Post Office

The Supreme People's Court of the People's Republic of China is located at No. 27 Dongjiaomin Lane. Because there are armed police guarding the main entrance, it is not allowed to take pictures, so I can only take a side view.

Across the road from the Supreme People's Court is now the Beijing Police Museum, which is also a Western classical-style building. It is the former site of the Beijing branch of Citibank of the United States built in the early 20th century.

On the east side of the Supreme People's Court are No. 15 and No. 17 of Dongjiaomin Lane. No. 15 was the Prince An's Mansion in the Qing Dynasty, and the French Legation in Beijing in the late Qing Dynasty. After the coup in Cambodia in 1970, Premier Zhou personally approved the transformation of this place into Xiha Nuuk’s residence. In January 1971, Prince Sihanouk, his wife and members of the royal family moved here from the Diaoyutai State Guesthouse. In the following thirty years, Sihanouk went into exile in China twice, most of the time Live and work here.
It is said that a certain central leader lived here a few years ago. No. 15 and No. 17 are actually two gates of the same yard. No. 15 is guarded by armed police, and No. 17 is an iron gate that is usually closed. The staff left. When we passed by, we saw the changing of guards at No. 15. The guards who changed guards entered through the small gate of No. 17, and came out from the gate of No. 15 to change their guards.

At the northeast corner of the intersection of Dongjiaomin Lane and Taijichang Street is St. Michael’s Church. St. Michael’s Church, also known as Taijichang Catholic Church, was built by the French missionary Priest Gao in the Guangxu period of the Qing Dynasty. It is famous for its exquisite angel statue above the main entrance. and famous. The church has a Gothic architectural style and is dedicated to Michael, the Archangel Michael.

Opposite the church is the original Belgian embassy in China. When passing by, I saw a little girl beside her bicycle concentrating on painting the St. Michael's Church across the road.

The east end of Dongjiaomin Lane is connected to Chongwenmen Inner Street, and in the north of Dongkou Road of Dongjiaomin Lane is Beijing Tongren Hospital, which was founded in 1886 and is famous for its ophthalmology.

Dongjiaomin Lane and Xijiaomin Lane——Xijiaomin Lane

Xijiaomin Lane is located on the west side of Tiananmen Square, west to North Xinhua Street at the intersection of Hepingmen and north. In the early years, there were the Criminal Department, Dali Temple, Metropolitan Procuratorate, Taichang Temple, Luan Yiwei and other yamen in Xijiaomin Lane. At the end of the Qing Dynasty and the beginning of the Republic of China, there were many banks in Xijiaomin Lane. It is quite similar to the early financial street.
Now located on the westernmost side of Xijiaomin Lane, Xilaishun Restaurant on North Xinhua Street was founded in the 19th year of the Republic of China (AD 1930). At that time, Xilaishun was very famous in the "Jiaomen Restaurant", and it operated banquets and roast ducks. According to "Beijing Real News" on April 25, 1935, "Xilaishun on West Chang'an Street is the most modern among Jiaomen restaurants." ... , often using ideas to invent some new dishes, which are between half Chinese and half Western, and also between meat and vegetables, so that rich people treat guests and friends have snacks.
Now the Halal dishes in Beijing are divided into Eastern Pai and Western Pai. According to industry insiders, Dong Pai dishes are represented by Dong Lai Shun, You Yi Shun’s hot pot, and grilled shabu, while Western Pai dishes are represented by Xi Lai Shun.

Street View of Xijiaomin Lane

No. 87, Xijiaomin Lane, is the residence of Hao Shengtang, the founder of the original Beijing Shuanghesheng Five-Star Beer. People of older age will know Beijing’s Five-Star Beer, which was the symbol of Beijing Beer at that time.

Shuanghesheng Five Star Beer Soda Factory was located at No. 11, Nanguanyin Temple, outside Guang'an Gate at that time. The brewery was officially put into operation in 1915 and began to take shape. It won the gold medal at the Panama International Expo that year. This is also the first time that the beer produced by the Chinese has won an award in an international competition, and it is also the highest award. From the end of the 1920s to the beginning of the 1930s, Shuanghesheng Five-Star Brewery entered the heyday of development, with more than 500 employees and an annual output of more than 3,000 tons of beer, sold in 48 sales points in more than 30 large and medium-sized cities across the country. , and exported to Hong Kong, Macao and Southeast Asia and other places.

On January 31, 1949, Beiping was peacefully liberated, and Beijing Shuanghesheng Five Star Beer and Soda Factory became a public-private joint venture and became the earliest public-private joint venture in Beijing. During the War to Resist US Aggression and Aid Korea, it also donated an aircraft in the name of 'Shuanghesheng'.

The northwest corner of the intersection of Xijiaomin Lane and West Side Road of the Great Hall of the People is now the State Grid Beijing Electric Power Company

The northeast corner of the intersection of Xijiaomin Lane and the west side road of the Great Hall of the People is the former site of Beijing Branch of China Huiye Bank

The National People's Congress is on the east side of the old site of China Huiye Bank Beijing Branch

To the north of the road continuing to the east is the Great Hall of the People Hotel and Fangquanzhai Coin Collection Service Department. The building of Fangquanzhai’s Coin Collection Service Department is the former site of the former Central Bank’s Beiping Branch. Between the Great Hall of the People Hotel and the Fangquanzhai Coin Collection Service Department, there is a small east-west road leading north to the south gate of the Great Hall of the People. It is said that this was once the location of the Ministry of Punishment in the Ming and Qing Dynasties and the Jingshi Detention Center in the Republic of China.

Among the modern bank buildings in Xijiaomin Lane, the most prominent and standard building is the old site of the Beijing Branch of Continental Bank located at the east entrance of Xijiaomin Lane. It is a distinctive Western-style building around Tiananmen Square. The building was built in 1924, imitating the Bank of England building, and it is a relatively high level of Western classical buildings designed by Chinese architects.
From 1955 to 1963, the address was used by the head office of the Agricultural Bank of China. It has been used by the head office of Bank of China since 1979. Later, it became the business building of Bank of China Beijing Qianmen Sub-branch. In 2004, it was announced as a designated protection area and construction control area.

From the east exit of Xijiaomin Lane is Tiananmen Square, on the north side of Xijiaomin Lane is the Great Hall of the People, facing the Chairman Mao Memorial Hall to the east

The southeast of the east entrance of Xijiaomin Lane is Zhengyangmen and Qianmen.

The northeast direction of the east entrance of Xijiaomin Lane is Tiananmen Square


Beijing's hutong culture carries the development and evolution of the capital's thousand-year history and culture. Every hutong and even every building in the hutong has a legendary history and story. cultural atmosphere. Under the pressure of fast-paced work and life every day, as well as the thoughts and souls wandering in the virtual space of the Internet, taking time to stroll around the alleys can find a long-lost true love once owned or dreamed of.

Recommended accommodation: Unnamed Courtyard Hotel

Located in Baochao Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, it is a boutique courtyard hotel

The hotel is rebuilt from a courtyard house. It is in the alley, very close to Nanluoguxiang and Lama Temple. Walking to the scenic spots, you can also feel the atmosphere of the old Beijing Hutong along the way. The reserved parent-child room can be upgraded to a suite for free. There is a small courtyard at the door of the room with a vine inside and a set of small stone tables and chairs. It must be very pleasant to go there again in autumn and drink tea under the dense vines. The hotel has a very comfortable lobby where you can drink tea, chat, and play chess. It is antique, quiet and warm. Breakfast is optional. You choose it the night before, make an appointment, and it will be served on the table on time in the morning. The breakfast has many styles and is of high quality. The hotel service is very good. We arrived late on the day. We had tea in the lobby when we arrived, and the lady at the front desk was with me all the time. Every staff member gives people a warm and spring breeze feeling. I have never written a review before, this time I am really satisfied, the price is super high, I will stay here next time I go to play.